UPLOAD, SHARE, PRESERVE MUGEN FOR ETERNITY!
a missing category? request it here.

Uploads
    Comments

Default A lot of questions about character and system creation

Hello,

I'm a newbie at MUGEN, all i did was ripping some sprites in Kawaks shot factory and watch some tutorials.

1st : How hard is to make a system based on MUGEN, like KOF Zillion or KOF Wing 2.0? Where you can have a alternate character selection screen, i'm interested on that.

2nd: Is possible to choose grooves like in SF Zero 3, KOF97/98 and CvS2 in the selection screen?

3rd: Are the any place where i can get the KOFZ engine? Since they stopped the project and i've heard that the released the coding of that game.

4th: Can i make my own projectile sprites? Are they made the same way of the character's sprites? And what are the recommended programs for spriting process?

5th: Are there any spriting tutorial for SNK (specially KOF96~XI) style sprites. Also for KOXIII sprites.

6th: Is there any place where i can get Ikaruga's template and/or his SNK Sakura sprites?

I want to start editing characters like Ryo Sakazaki, Iori Yagami and others, then start my own projects like SNK style chars that i like.

Thank you very much in advance.

Default Re: A lot of questions about character and system creation

Quote Originally Posted by R.E.D. ODA View Post
    2nd: Is possible to choose grooves like in SF Zero 3, KOF97/98 and CvS2 in the selection screen?
    If you mean explicitly then no, at least I have never heard of mugen supporting this. But it's entirely possible to select a groove exactly the same way you select a palette, based on which button you press to select the character. e.g. it's commonly used in warusaki3 chars, where selecting with start+any button will trigger an alternate version (evil/shin/boss/mech/etc..) IIRC there's a char named Fou-Lu which used that kind of setting.

Default Re: A lot of questions about character and system creation